language links, linguistic anthropology

Language links 12/14

Every Monday, I share some of what I’ve been reading in the past week.


Conservatives agree that language matters: FOX News has stopped using the term “assault weapon.”

An editor at the Baltimore Sun takes down all the people who don’t like singular “they.” They write: “A great deal of what we learn in school must be laboriously unlearned and relearned in later life, and English usage is no exception.”

Rather than having to choose between “Latino” (masculine) and “Latina” (feminine), an increasing number of Spanish speakers use either “Latin@” or “Latinx.” A few articles discuss why it matters.

The word “sleep” really gets around!

Interviews with linguists are always excellent.

Need a gift for the linguist in your life? (If the linguist in your life is me, I want one of these more than anything on that list. And what I really want is a full set: that one, and then one with gutches, one with kazhes, one with tors, one with luns, and one with nizzes. If you don’t have a clue what I’m talking about, take a look here.)

Popular dictionary searches in 2015!

Standard